Why buy mixers?

frequentc

I'm a hobbyist producer, and for the most part I make shoddy amateur projects.
One of my friends told me he was thinking about buying a mixer.
This posed a question, with all the digital software available allowing you to mix your inputs while recording and in post producing and all these good audio interfaces out there, what use would a good mixer really do in today's home studio. I know this might be a novice question, but I wish to learn more and add more to my knowledge, instead of blindingly purchase a mixer like my friend here.

if i had the money to spend on a mixer, i would get a nice one...i'd need at least 30-40 tracks on it though...and that'd be expensive.. i know software can do the same thing...but actual mixers are right in front of you...yes, as are the computers/software.. but i mean, you have your volume knobs, your eq's, your FX sends...EVERYTHING right there on the mixing board...I would like to mess with a mixing board if i could instead of clicking a mouse 500 times while looking for the right plugin and settings.......i think its matter of preference...yet at the same time...in real professional studio's, you're going to see mixing boards everywhere....like i said, it really depends on you, what you like, and what you're going for.

If you already have an Audio interface with enough Inputs/Outputs, just get a Midi Control Surface.

MACKIE CONTROL UNIVERSAL

MCUpro-xlarge.jpg

MACKIE CONTROL UNIVERSAL EXTENDER

MCUproXT
MCUproXT-xlarge.jpg

Mackie Control Extender Pro | Sweetwater.com

Is there really ANY advantage to having a mixer pre-sound wise?
because it sounds like it's just convienience, hell a midi control surface sounds like a better investment.
If you ask me, mixers seem as irrelevant as synths nowadays.

Mixers are just for preference reasons now
They would make things like EQ'ing your mic settings a bit faster, but if youre a software producer you dont NEED a mixer these days