where and how did everyone learn to Eq and master there music?

BubbaBen

I'm very new to the game here guys and I'm sick of my beats sounding dull and want to take the next step but I just don't know where to start.

Any good videos recommended or anything? cheers peepz

I jus practiced over the years. You develop a ear for that other people can't use. Use the EQ to carve frequencies out. Don't use it to boost certain frequencies. If you listen and take your time for long enough, you'll be able to achieve a quality mix.

Indeed, plenty of practice and best of all, critique feedback. I remember my drums were weak but I thought the patterns were dope until I looked for feedback and I was torn to shreds. But my skin is armor, I took it in and just got better. Mostly DJs I prefer the feedback, they know sound and need the dope shit for their set.

Just listen more with your ears and try to understand others listening habits.

Good luck.

I jus practiced over the years. You develop a ear for that other people can't use. Use the EQ to carve frequencies out. Don't use it to boost certain frequencies. If you listen and take your time for long enough, you'll be able to achieve a quality mix.

I just attempted to mix,eq and master a quick song I made just then.

Reckon you could judge it for me and see how I went?

Honestly if you want to learn to mix and eq you should just look at some videos on YouTube or go to a masterclass.
EQing is a skill that takes time to learn so just keep practicing and train your ears.

It's about time and hard work. Nobody become a master sound engineer overnight. The professional sound engineering took many years to improve their skills and their ears. However you can watch on youtube a lot of tutorial about mixing and mastering.