Where do you get your sounds?

pinder325

I'm a beginner and i have been wondering about something. When making electronic music, do you get all your sounds from virtual instruments? If so do you just use the sounds or can you change the sounds to something more unique? Like if I think of a sound in my head and want to recreate it on the DAW. How would I do this?

Thanks

That all depends on a lot of things, depends what type of sound, what type of vst, if it's a synth with oscillators or just a sampled rompler.
Every vst is different, with different levels of tweaking you can do.

To make your own sounds, You basically need to learn at least some basics of synthesis and sound design, how effects work and how they interact with the oscillators signal.

its not hard to begin, but it can get quite technical depending how deep you want to dive into it.

sound design can be a trade all of its own.

That all depends on a lot of things, depends what type of sound, what type of vst, if it's a synth with oscillators or just a sampled rompler.
Every vst is different, with different levels of tweaking you can do.

To make your own sounds, You basically need to learn at least some basics of synthesis and sound design, how effects work and how they interact with the oscillators signal.

its not hard to begin, but it can get quite technical depending how deep you want to dive into it.

sound design can be a trade all of its own.

So would you say that most people who produce don't actually create their own sounds? just find ones that already exist, and maybe change pitch and add effects?

So would you say that most people who produce don't actually create their own sounds? just find ones that already exist, and maybe change pitch and add effects?

I wouldn't say most, in fact I couldn't classify them at all. Everybody and every genre is different.