What's your EQ process?

B

Beats09

I know that every Beat is different and you have to apply EQ differently each time, but what's your general EQ process?

Do you apply a high pass filter on everything besides the kick + bass? at what hz do you do it at?

etc etc etc

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey man, I don't get your question that much, but I'll give you my take on EQ see if I can help ya out.
Eq is commonly misunderstood, most of the presets are like " Add Brightness, Bass Boost, etc. So people think Eq is for adding stuff.
While most of the times I use the Eq to take shit out.
Thats when you really star getting the picture.
I love pinpointing weird frequencies and pulling them out.
So thats my tip right there bro, try listening and cleaning that sound, mold the sound to your liking.

Peace bro any question hit me up

Last edited:
I'm still learning EQ myself so I don't have a set method yet. Right now I'm learning to sweep the frequencies and make small cuts like Barc3lona was talking about.

Check out this thread on EQ https://www.futureproducers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29861 it's stickied up at the top.

The biggest thing I have learned is better arrangement. By cutting down on the amount of instruments playing at one time it clears things up and I need less EQ.

An EQ is a correction tool. You first need an issue, then, the solution will be obvious.

Last edited:
An EQ is a correction tool. You first need an issue, then, the solution will be obvious.

Yeah at first...while learning how to eq.

But once you learn that, you'll also start to be able to use eq to add texture and colors to your sound. Not just for equaling out the frequencies.