What's Wrong with This Mix?

Falcon900EX

I'm convinced the vocals need to cut through more (maybe louder?). I've used EZ Mix 2 (as I'm a newbie), but have Reaper's plugins at my disposal. Any suggestions on how to make this thing sound better? Thanks!

soundcloud.com/philip_geddes/some-memories-cannot-die3

It's a nice, simple mix. Vocal sounds good (goes a little flat on that last line before the "band" kicks in). I guess the only thing fighting majorly with the lead vocal is the piano; it takes up the vocal range and it also takes a lot of stereo space... I would change the piano to mono, or at least crush the stereo spread (panning) down a bit, also bring it down volume-wise. Also, now that I got to the end, I think the string section is very "hot" (loud) as well. I'm not sure if you compressed the vocal much; it sounds nice and crisp but gets a bit lost when your dynamics are lower or your lyrics are a bit dense (words are close together). I'd compress a little more, and bring the overall volume up _a touch_ (it doesn't have to be radically louder). A big thing with mixing for a lead vocal is to generally put it dead-center, and keep everything else out of the center to create the space it needs. Even if it's just bumping other instruments over a few ticks to the right or left. Nothing should be in the center other than what you are featuring (in this case, vocal); if a lead instrument like an electric guitar or a sax comes in for a solo (no lead vox), then that can move to the center to take "center stage" with the listener...

That was a lot of mixing minutia, I know, but you really did do a great job; just needs a few tweaks to be even better.

GJ

GJ,

Thanks so much for the terrific feedback! I attempted most of the changes you suggested. Hopefully I didn't go overboard on the compression/processing... Would you say it's an improvement overall or no? Thanks again for your time!

soundcloud.com/philip_geddes/some-memories-cannot-die4