Tips and Tricks about Sampling?

BetaBite

A.I. Records
View attachment Test.mp3

This is my first attempt at sampling.
Sadly, I'm at like, five years of production experience,
though just recently trying to get in to hip-hop.
What I made sounds terrible to me, and I would appreciate any tips/tricks on sampling, in general or for this song in particular.

Thanks in advance!

It sounds like you literally threw drums on top of a sample without even tryin to make it fit BPM wise. You didn't even have a kick at all, although you did have a bassline. I like that in ya lol. First off all take that whole sample off. I can't even tell if you chopped it at all. It sounds like you were at a show with your MPC while your friend was playin the piano. Lol well enough of that.

One thing's for sure you need alota work. With 5 years of experience what were you actually doin? I understand you may not've been the best sampler but you could've been able to throw a decent track together. Before I'd give you any advice I'd suggest you listen to some sample-based hip-hop music. Such as Kanye West or the Heatmakerz.

I appreciate your feedback!
I also forgot to mention, that I had been doing house music for five years in FL studio, and I just RECENTLY moved in to Ableton Live.
So I'm in a whole new world and can't produce for crap.. Haha, I'm chuggin' along though. :P
I also read that it was better to chop up the track as-is without chopping to MIDI.
But disregarding that would it be better if I threw it on a drum rack and used my drum pads instead?

Also I would appreciate feedback on this as well?

View attachment Untitled Beat.mp3

It was also done with Ableton, but without the stress of sampling.