Things I need to understand about drums

Casey Alien

so I've been making beats for about 3 years and I feel like I'm just not getting it, I don't understand how to control the sonics like you all seem to. I don't have any friends that are into making music the way I am I also don't know anyone who can teach me anything so I've just been learning through go studio tutorials for a few years. Take this track from one of my favorite producers on YouTube for instance https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9gQ2BrGlrQo can anyone give me any insight on how he got his drums to sound that loud and clear? I only use to studio stock plugins, I don't really understand compression, using my ears on the stock compressor for fl studio doesn't work for me the ratio of say 2 to 1 with a 10 db threshold makes sense in my head but then when I listen to it I can't hear any kind of difference and from what I've picked up the fruity limiter is just garbage. Basically what I'm asking is, is it compression? Simple mixing he's doing? The beat sounds so simple but hits so hard. Am I even able to obtain that kind of sound with fl studio stock plugins? Any insight would be awesome like I said I don't really have anyone to come too about this stuff and I do strive to eventually be happy with tracks I make.

Hard to say without hearing your stuff in comparison! From the top of my head, many amateurs lack proper monitoring. Decent speakers in a treated room is a crucial, perhaps combined with a good set of headphones. If you can't properly hear what you're doing, it's hard to nail it.

However, I don't think the beats in that Trauma track are anything special. Very basic 808-like samples, not much groove,, mixed to sound clean and modern instead of vintage. The rest of the music is what makes the track. Maybe you're looking at things in a wrong way? Try making a basic beat quickly, then focus on writing a good song around those beats. That one is much harder than doing basic production on 808 samples..