Sound Delay

DJ XTATIK

Yo what up people?!
now i seem to have a problem with playing sound through my imac computer...i'm just starting out in all this recording business and i've successfully hooked my tt's up to my imac but when i play it through the comp i get a sound delay. Can somebody help me out on this one? I've already cleared up a lot of space for it and it's a pretty new comp so i can't see the problem!:mad: N E help would be greatly appreciated.

plus: does n e body know of any good programs for recording on imac's??? They're hard 2 find so any help would be great

peace out,
DJ XTATIK

This is computer latency and no you can't get rid of it except with a very expensive sound card.

One way round is to use an external mixer to pre route your sounds , then monitor your playing from the mixer not the computer. This will get rid of that anoying delay which at a guess is around 2-500 ms

hey thanks for the help....but i'm not sure i completely understand. I have already hooked up an external mixer and have hooked that into the comp and am monitoring it through there. Would it be better to use my amp and hi-fi speakers as a monitor instead of the comp? can it work like that?? and if so how could i hook that up???

thanx again
DJ XTATIK

Well it depends on your mixer.

If you have auxillary sends you could use these to send a feed from each channel to a headphone amp.

If you don't you could use a seperate pair of stereo outs to go to an old tape deck and monitor the mix thru that.

The basic idea is that you want to be hearing everything off the computer but you want to be hearing your playing signal mixed in with that before the signal goes to the computer. If thats any clearer.

What sort of mixing desk do you have ?

Firts of all here's a stupid question...cause i'm new to this...but what excatly is a mixing desk? I'll tell you what i have right now:
-my turntables hooked up to external Gemini mixer that has 4 aux inputs (2 used by tt's)