Should I buy a new iMac for my home recording studio?

KanyeDrake

So I have a 15 inch mid-May 2015 MacBook pro. 512GB storage, 16GB RAM and 2.5GHZ i7 processor. I just purchased back in summer of 2015. I think in August. There's nothing wrong with it. It runs very smooth no problems at all. And I'm deciding if I should buy another computer, a 2015 iMac for about $2,000. 1TB storage, 16GB RAM 3.2GHZ and i5 processor. I'm a beginner recording artist. I'm focused on rap and hip hop and R&B. I'm already spending almost $3,300 on studio equipment alone (no computer, since I already have one) I haven't released any songs or used a recording studio. I've only been using some of my friend's studios and that's about it.
Do you think it's a good idea to buy the iMac now or in the future? If not now, when do you think I should buy it? after how many years etc....

Use what you already have and don't spend no more money considering you do not have a presence nor a fan base with your music. Even when/if you ever do gain attention with your music still don't spend any more as there is more money in selling to consumers the dream of equipment automatically making one's music better more than there is money in the occupation of artist.

Last edited:
For me it's not a good upgrade

So I have a 15 inch mid-May 2015 MacBook pro. 512GB storage, 16GB RAM and 2.5GHZ i7 processor. I just purchased back in summer of 2015. I think in August. There's nothing wrong with it. It runs very smooth no problems at all. And I'm deciding if I should buy another computer, a 2015 iMac for about $2,000. 1TB storage, 16GB RAM 3.2GHZ and i5 processor. I'm a beginner recording artist. I'm focused on rap and hip hop and R&B. I'm already spending almost $3,300 on studio equipment alone (no computer, since I already have one) I haven't released any songs or used a recording studio. I've only been using some of my friend's studios and that's about it.