Recording Vocals in home studio setup, levels, and monitoring via headphones?

Dannymix

Hello there.

Been a long time since iv been here. Iv had a break for a while, sold all my gear and have started to get back into electronic music producing again, this time im all software using Reason 9.

Now my brother is a singer just for fun at home, and is now wanting to get into recording his own songs along side Karaoke tracks, and get a very close to studio mix as possible. He has got Reason, Ballance audio interface, monitor speakers, decent mic, stand and pop shiled, and headphones so we are all set to go, or so we thought?

I dont have much experience recording vocals, im a electronic musician, but have done my research e.c.t.

Problem 1:

He cant hear his own vocals via the headphones, the interface headphone volume is full, so we know for his 250hm headphone he needs a pre amp, one on the way, there is no way to get his phones any boost from what I know of?

We continue and except for the moment he will have to deal with not hearing things that lound.

Problem 2: Mix recording level.

So I get the meter up on the screen, and him to sing the chorus, or most loudest part of the song, he does, I set the input to -10db. He starts to record still not hardly hearing his own voice, music turned right down, but his levels are now hitting at -20db when he hits the loudest parts, so how do I set the mix input level when each time his performance changes?

Problem 3: Still cant hear his vocals!