Recording and mixing vocal - Help!

wavtech

Hey all, I use FL Studio as my main DAW. I have issues getting full sounding vocals and wonder what you pro's do to get them. Should I use a compressor while recording or apply it after the recording process? Should I limit the crap out of them until the signal is crunched together? Needless to say my vocals have no body or push.. they sound dead and struggled. I use an Audio Technica AT2020 studio condensor mic.

I think there are several reasons why vocals sound lifeless.. placing the mic the wrong way around is obviously the worst case scenario. I'm by no means a pro but I have some experience recording and mixing vocals.

Compression is nearly a must. If your desk has a built-in compressor then you could apply that in the recording process but I personally wouldn't.. HPF is a good idea to eliminate any rumble. Some pop filters can also be destructive to vocals (in certain frequency ranges) although they prevent the vocalist from singing too close to the mic and block those nasty plosives.

On the cheap you could try to place something soft like a piece of mattress behind the mic unless you have a mic screen. If your mic is picking up too much low-mid range you could place the mic so that the singer sings a bit off-axis of it's polar pattern, not straight to it (like one would mic a guitar amp, say 45 degree angle)

Some advanced techniques include careful EQing, using a noise gate and doubling the vocal track and transposing it down an octave. There are some stereo/mono considerations too, I'd high-pass the delays and reverbs to prevent excessive phasing.