Question For Recording Artists, Producers (Purchasing and making beats)

DrizzyFromthe6

I'm a beginner recording artist (Rap and R&B) and I wanna release songs this year. I don't know how to go on about it. My style of music is influenced by Drake, Bryson, The Weeknd, Justin bieber, Travi$, NAV etc... My question is should I buy beats or make my own beats? I already have 2 in-house producers working with me but it takes them a month to complete an amazing beat and record my vocals. But if I buy a beat from a Youtube Producer, it takes no longer than 2 weeks. I'm thinking about buying beats from Youtube Producers for throwaway tracks while my producers are working on the other beat to put in an album mixtape ep etc... Is buying beats from youtube producers a good move? Will it hurt my career? or should I just stick with making my own.

I don't have a music fanbase yet but I have a huge following on social media

You have in-house producers, now find the confidence to ask them if they would teach you how to produce. Please know that this isn't the superproducer era where producers use to and could bank on placements to get careers started and/or profiles boosted. Do not do throwaway tracks and do not focus on albums and/or mixtapes as EPs would be a better option due to short attention spans of listeners in this era.

Last edited:
That didn't answer my question. Will it hurt my career if I used beats made by youtube producers. I'm talking about those (Type Beat) producers

Are you a signed or unsigned artist? If you have in house producers don't worry about those who are type beat producers.

I'm an unsigned Rap and R&B artist and I'm thinking about staying independent until I get a really good deal when I blow up. What do you mean don't worry about type beat producers? Are you saying using their beats (in any way) won't hurt my career?