Need advice on what to upgrade in my home studio! Hip Hop music.

masonpayonk

What's up ya'll? I have been recording rap vocals in my dorm room for two years with an MXL 3000 Mic through an iTrack solo USB interface. I am a Legal Studies major and frankly do not know much about the specifics of recording but I try to make it work. I'm looking to upgrade my sound but I am not sure if my equipment or my mixing is the problem (or both). I want to get to an industry standard sound as soon as possible. Do I need preamp? A mic upgrade? Or an interface upgrade? I'm on a college budget so I can't spend crazy money, but I'm willing to do whatever it takes with the budget that I have.

Please let me know your thoughts! Thanks.

Here is the link to my soundcloud so you can check the quality I'm currently working with.

w w w . s o u n d c l o u d . c o m / m a s o n i v r e a l

I would invest in a nice interface/mic combo with some good monitors and headphones. I personally would recommend universal Audio Apollo Duo thunderbolt or if on a tight budget the Apollo twin. I will say this Drakes "So far gone" was tracked through a Mbox. Noah 40 Shebib Drakes personal engineer has talked about this in many different interviews and there are photos of Drake recording etc. Its more so your ears and essentially learning the tools you have and mastering your DAW whatever that may be. Don't fall into the trap of you need to have "this" to achieve "This" I have tracked with very expensive chains such as Sonyc800 G>Neve 1073, u87>Avalon etc etc and I have also tracked with an Mbox. Some of my best recordings have happened utilizing a Rode NTa1/Mbox combo. Rick

Protools