Mixing Mono Vs Stereo

Ðësantis

I am a newer producer and have read many tutorials about having your kicks always be in Mono, why is this? What other things should be in Mono While I mix, what should be in stereo? What exactly is Mono and what exactly is stereo? Sorry if the question was very newbish :D

if you were to record your sources (rather than use samples or sample playback options) most of them would have a single microphone and therefore a mono recording interface

i.e. you would not record a voice, guitar, a bass, individual drums on the kit using X-Y/A-B/or M-S techniques

You might use overhead pairs on a real drum kit to capture the parts of the kit that are not mic'd

In a live recording you might record using one or more of the above different yet entirely compatible stereo micing techniques

some sounds from synth modules are naturally in stereo and so should be used as stereo tracks

from a logistics point of view unless there is stereo information present in a track, all a stereo sample of that instrument does is double the intensity of the signal - i.e. gives +6dB boost.

In most cases this makes it harder to mix everything as each sound is already twice as loud as the original source

converting back to mono maintaining the same bit depth and sample rate reduces file sizes by half (and also halves bitrate (they are expressions of the same concept, although bitrate is time independent))

to place individual mono sources within the stereo filed use panning during mixing, then adjust levels and eq and fx to taste

Any instrument/vocal track that you need to stay in the middle of the mix after mastering, since a lot of stereo enhancement/widening is done while mastering, must be mono in your mix. For instance Kick, snare, bass guitar main vocal etc

If you sample drums from vinyl i would make them mono.
But if you pick from random drumkits it usually sounds better stereo cause a lot of those sound are made to sound best in stereo. i think