Mixing and mastering - step by step - am I right?

homerthebeatmaker

Hi,

as a beginner, I've spent some time trying to reconsider the sequences of activities when it comes to mixes/mastering. I'm just a home-based hip-hop producer who put from time to time beats on soundcloud/youtube.

So, I would like to know what is 'step-by-step' habit in hip-hop production (of course I realize that there are no iron rules that I should keep; I just want to have a general overview of things should be done during mixing).

here's my "check-list":

Step 1: I'm making beat. Digging in DAW, choosing samples, kicks, snares etc. and programming some drums patterns, playing the melodies included. In short, I just hit the pads and keys and don't care too much about volume and effects like panning and eqing.

Step 2: Next goal is to arrange the beat. After this step I've got the solid beat.

Step 3: So now I've got the beat that I like but I feel it could be better when it comes to general feeling, so I put some efforts on mixing. Firstly, as I want to make headroom, I'm turning down the kick track to -6/8dB (as I want to built the beat around the kick as a peak track). Now the kick track is like my reference track, and I'm setting up the volume of the other tracks.

So now is my WHAT TO DO moment. Am I supposed to do some EQ, compression on drums and reverb/delays? (as I said before, I'm not looking for golden way, but some solid workflow that could be my reference method).

Okey, let's say I did everything like I wrote above - guess I still supposed to have this all headroom (about -6dB) thing after put effects? So this way I've got the mixed beat that is ready for mastering, yup? Is that the 'final' of my work (as I don't feel comfortable with mastering and would like to sent the beat to sound engineer)?