[MIXING] How to get that special vocal effect ?

Izem

Hello everyone !

I am a new home studio engineer and I am facing a problem.

It has now been about three months I am mixing my songs in my home studio ; so I am starting to get not awful results. I am doing rap/trap songs on beats I get online or from friends (so I only mix my vocals).

Here is my problem : even if I am kind of satisfied of the results I can get considering my experience in mixing, I still can't get that effect on voice I am looking for and that (imo) make the song more professional.

Better than words, let's listen to this effect I am looking for:

As you can notice, the voice of the guy is not exactly the same when he talks at the beginning than when he raps. Of course his rapping part is processed and mixed but there is this effect on his voice that make all the difference: is voice is kind of smoothen/flatten.

on YouTube (sorry I can't post URL):
/watch?v=xb0TYXzZnpw

I am wondering what part of the mixing process (EQ, compress.., if not all) smoothen the vocals. Because that makes the vocals fit the beat pretty well. Or maybe it is the mic?

I am very interested in getting more information.

Btw, you can check a mix of mine here (I am French so it's French trap aha):):

/watch?v=68zLrxhMJ8I

You can here than my vox aren't as smooth as in the vid. :4theloveofgod:

If anyone has any clue of how I can get this effect, I would be very grateful.

Izem

sub to me @ YouTube

Ok .. The muddy area between vocals and beats is 500hz . Get a paragraphic eq so you can see ( i use fl studio)

Almost every beat cut the 500hz range so you dont have to boost your voice...

Im not sure if you layer your vocal tracks or not. Let me know if you do then I will write more. Subscribe first please !!!