Mixing Competing Frequencies

caycay

Ive been mixing some tracks that have several competing frequencies. When I pan them, the mix still sounds a little cluttered, and when I try and eq them, to make space, I end up with limp sounding instruments.... I was just wondering if anyone had any tips to mixing competing frequencies?

Also, when your applying EQ to the competing frequencies, do you typically try to completely cut out the unwanted competing frequencies to make them fit? Or do you just try and lower unwanted frequencies in the two competing frequencies?

I am by no means a professional mixing engineer but I never use panning as a solution to competing frequencies. Usually when there are two competing frequencies I always look towards the arrangement of the song.

The best solution towards competing frequencies is good arrangement.

it is more likely to be a problem with note choices in your source tracks than a problem that eq alone can fix.

use parallel processing on both tracks and eq and compress as needs be to get them to sit nice- panning is always useful for this problem despite what was offered in the first reply

use parallel processing on both tracks and eq and compress as needs be to get them to sit nice- panning is always useful for this problem despite what was offered in the first reply

Ok thanks.

With the eq question, do you completely take out unwanted frequencies that's causing two competing frequencies?

or do you just lower the frequencies in the eq, that are causing two frequencies to compete?

...do you completely take out unwanted frequencies that's causing two competing frequencies? ...
The simple but annoying answer is, you EQ till it sounds fine.