Mastering. Is their an actual process?

Norge N/A

So ive mastered a few tracks myself, and i noticed in some vids producers say theirs a certain way to master as in compression being last and loudness before, i usually eq, loudness and then compress and just a bunch of shit and its confusing me, is their an actual way of mastering and if possible any tips for me since i wanna know how to master my tracks myself?

Last edited:
I'm no pro but a professional mastering engineer has $40,000 monitors and a treated room. You cant just get a pair of HS8's and Izotope ozone and call yourself a mastering engineer. Its a whole different skill set than producing. But as a starter Izotope Ozone works and the manual has good info.

I use Ozone, my strategy that works pretty well.
1/ Make sure the track is well mixed so that it sounds good even without mastering
2/ EQ
3/ Multiband compression
4/ Exciter (usually very light, sometimes none, a little tube maybe)
5/ Stereo enhancer (sometimes none)
6/ Light Reverb. If my track already has some, extremely light to see if it improves cohesion, or none
7/ Maximiser
8/ I never use the output EQ.

I was able to get tracks on TV with this strategy, so it works.

Leave the loudness till the very end of the mastering chain. The only time in mastering you want to get a louder signal is when everything is balanced and even. This is because you won't be able to get your track to the appropriate loudness as certain unbalanced frequencies will cause your mix to distort sooner than it has to.