Mastering a bootleg

K

KasioRoks

Evening All,

I really need some practical advice. I've just finished a bootleg (i.e. 2 tunes stitched together which will be amusing the first time you hear it and will then start to grate). I know that no legit record label is gonna look at it, but since things like it do get put out I guess distributers must be involved somewhere. Here's my plan: I get the thing up to the highest possible standard and then approach a distributer to put up the pressing costs & distribute it (which I know is possible). Here's my problem I have no money - this thing has got to make me some, 'cos I'm sick of eating dogfood - but know that it needs mastering. I've never done any mastering before, but I know how important it is. My idea is to download a trial of a mastering software plugin and use dat.

All comments - apart from don't do it go to a Mastering house - very much welcomed.

And if it does get released & you hear it & it annoys the arse off you, I'm really sorry.

:cheers:
KasioRoks

basically bro you are going to have to get it to a release standard yourself, as with all releases. if you dont have the tools or skills then that means going to a studio with your tune.
then i guess you will have to pay to press it up and then try to get shops to take them to sell, many will do a sale or return for you.
most distributors wont touch it. they are only there to make money and a dodgy bootleg just leads to too much potetntial headaches. sorry but thats how it is. also if you have no exposure then it makes it way way harder.
dont give up though if you think you can do it.
just try to make it as good as possible and try to have rms as high as possible, if you use analog, try to get it at 0dBu with peaks at about +4dBu...... on digital not sure, guess as close to 0 without distorting.
then eq it to get it to sound like you want it to be and thats all you will have to do. that is basically mastering. and for a bootleg it will be fine.