Master volume

7venthSonMusic

What's up all,

Having a problem on the final mixes for my beats. Ill have everything knocking on my monitors, volumes are great, master is between -3 and 0db l, etc. but when I bounce my tracks down to listen in my car/on my phone the volume is way too low. I'm not an expert on mixing by any means, but I do know what I'm doing. The volume problem is really discouraging because I'm trying to build a beat catalog prior to getting my online presence up and its making me feel like it won't come together how I want it to.

Are the volume issues normal? Do I even need to worry about how loud it is? Any help would be appreciated.

If you are burning mixdowns to CD, the volume will be quieter than most professionally mastered CDs (I'm assuming you're listening to CD in your car, but you could be listening to MP3s on your phone or a disc).

You are effectively skipping a step (Mastering). Search the forum, there is plenty here and on the web...

GJ

Playing them off of my phone as an mp3. I put light compression and a limiter on the master track after I finished mixing everything to bring the levels up.

iPhone?

Is there a max volume control/limiter in-play?

GJ

PS-- If so, or you're not sure, go to: "Settings" > "Music" > "Playback" > "Volume Limit;" and while you're at it, check to make sure that "EQ" is off as well (which can effect sound output).

Last edited:
Android, and no there isnt anything like that. Its not a big deal I guess, i just wanna make sure I mix and master it good enough for an artist to do their thing on it. Can always just try to redo and see if I get better results

What's up all,