Maintaining kick headroom 101

Ðësantis

As you know, the kick is a very important element and in progressive house music needs to thump pretty loud. I myself mix while I produce so I have my kick sounding exactly the way I want it with my other instruments but the one issue I am having is that it's still -4.5 db. Meaning it is coming in a little too hot compared to my other instruments that are between -6.5-9 db. I am still new at this so is this where I would add something like distortion to my kick (get the kick louder but saving 1.5 db of headroom? Or am I just way to obsessed with these numbers?

As you know, the kick is a very important element and in progressive house music needs to thump pretty loud. I myself mix while I produce so I have my kick sounding exactly the way I want it with my other instruments but the one issue I am having is that it's still -4.5 db. Meaning it is coming in a little too hot compared to my other instruments that are between -6.5-9 db. I am still new at this so is this where I would add something like distortion to my kick (get the kick louder but saving 1.5 db of headroom? Or am I just way to obsessed with these numbers?

Yes and no. The specific db reading doesn't matter that much, but it has some importance as far as headroom and comparison to the levels of the rest of your track. Distortion can help achieve a louder kick without jacking up the level. Simple compression might be a better solution (or something to use in addition to distortion). Compression can basically make the loud things quiet and the quiet things loud (this is a watered down explanation). If used properly, you can make a kick louder while having the same peak level.

I have a video tutorial that I'm currently working on that demonstrates this. I can post it here or send a link to you when its finished.

The dB numbers don't mean much really, the only thing you should watch out for is a kick's relative dB level to everything else.