Looking for TIPS on Mixing & Mastering technique... Sound gurus gather!

willmarinbeats

willmarinbeats
Hi everyone, this is my first post so go easy... :P - I tend to produce by myself so I figured this would be a great way to start interacting with other producers.

I recently figured out that EQing makes beats sound MUCH better. Before I would almost NEVER use the EQ feature in FL Studio... Now I use it on almost every single track in the mixer...

Anyways, this epiphany has made my beats sound much crisper on all different outputs. However, I'm still pretty new to the game of mixing. Like I said, not long ago I wasn't mixing my beats AT ALL... I just threw the melodies and drums in and exported...
fIJBdUshvBfk2v6HFNWS8-pnzbdYxtqFtt65ytRto7CLQvJXdrEy2I8Vq_vxcqOHtQO00FjCsGf4ZylMSJlNZO0yvsfYttRspQkod1_t0pTNHXPP=s0-d-e1-ft
fIJBdUshvBfk2v6HFNWS8-pnzbdYxtqFtt65ytRto7CLQvJXdrEy2I8Vq_vxcqOHtQO00FjCsGf4ZylMSJlNZO0yvsfYttRspQkod1_t0pTNHXPP=s0-d-e1-ft
LOL, I'm sure many of you can relate to those beginning stages.

I have beats featured all over the place but the best places to listen are either my website (www.willmarin.com) or my SoundCloud (www.soundcloud.com/willmarinbeats)!

Please give me ANY advice you have about how to MIX and MASTER better. I've definitely improved but I still think I can improve.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice/support,

'willmarinbeats

If you're in that early stage in learning the craft of mixing, I'd rather suggest you go rent a book abount mixing, read Sound On Sound articles, and watch mixing tutorials - to get an idea of the different common mixing tools, different techniques and hacks, and good mixing philosophy.

Any specific question to ask? Sure. But asking about "things about mixing" is a pretty broad question, which answers might as well just confuse you at the moment.