Linking up Synths

wisebaxter442

Hi there, I'm quite new to doing things outside of the box and was wondering how I link synths up together and how many inputs I'll need etc. I have a scarlett Focusrite 2i2, a Korg Monotron, a Microbrute, a Mininova and the Volca keys, bass and beats. When I say 'link up together' I know this sounds pretty vague. Let me explain. For example I'd like to be running the mircrobrute through the Monotron to utilise the Monotrons delay, have the vocla beats synched in with each other, or with the Microbrute. Which leads need to go where and will each synth still need it's own input on my interface/mixer? This is another area I'm having trouble with, knowing whether I should get a mixer or not or maybe even upgrade my interface. I'm happy to record each synth separately, one at a time to their own individual track but I'm assuming I'd still need more inputs than than the 2i2 offers me if I want to start chaining my synths together like this? Will each synth in the chain need a separate input on my mixer/interface? Someone else said that mixers like Behringers only record to one stereo track at a time. Would this effect my chaining setup? Would I need a mixer that outputs to more than just one stereo track? Lastly, do I need midi ins/outs on my interface/mixer to chain like this as my 2i2 doesn't have any, thanks

Last edited:
this will take a bit of time to do out a patching layout for you

I am not entirely certain that you could link your other synths to the delay in the monotron

as for an interface/mixer you will need to upgrade to at least an 8 in/out interface or more likely a 16 in/out interface so that you have spare inputs for later

Last edited:
So you would recommend an interface over a mixer? Can I ask why this is please? Has it got something to do with most mixers only outputting one stereo track? Thanks

Last edited: