Limiter on the master track???

Schaaka

Alright, so I've been producing for about 2 years now, but have always kept the limiter on the master track. This was originally just cause I didnt know it existed but now I've become so used to it slapped onto every track that I have a difficult making a track "loud". Feel like the dynamic range in my tracks is being reduced besides the fact that its diminishing the sounds of most of the instruments in the mix (especially in heavier portions some tracks). I necessary I'll attempt to learn mastering, really not trynna pay for a mastering engineer, just wanna know yalls thoughts and whether or not you think it's necessary. Example of what Im sayin is wrong with my mix is around 0:55

When I mix and master my songs, I always use a utility on my master channel (not sure if you're on ableton but if you aren't it just lowers the master volume). I'll set the volume between -6db and -10db and then use Ozone 5 to master the track.

Alright, so I've been producing for about 2 years now, but have always kept the limiter on the master track. This was originally just cause I didnt know it existed but now I've become so used to it slapped onto every track that I have a difficult making a track "loud". Feel like the dynamic range in my tracks is being reduced besides the fact that its diminishing the sounds of most of the instruments in the mix (especially in heavier portions some tracks). I necessary I'll attempt to learn mastering, really not trynna pay for a mastering engineer, just wanna know yalls thoughts and whether or not you think it's necessary. Example of what Im sayin is wrong with my mix is around 0:55

I think it's not a great habit to get into as it gives you a false sense of dynamics .. or, ...it's sorta like trying to put icing on a cake while it's still in the oven.