It just doesen't get loud enough (mastering problems)

Peril

Hello guys!

I have almost finished my track, but the mastering is still remaining. I have only been mastering my tracks for like 2 months, so I'm still pretty new to it and everything seem so confusing. All though, I do have a certain idea of how it's done.

What I have done is having my kick at -8db and as the loudest track. Rest of the tracks is between -30db to -9db. After I had mixed it, eq'ued it and compressed it, I splitted the tracks in waw files. Then I put everything back in a new flp and threw on Izotope Ozone 5. After I had eq'ued it, compressed it even more and used the maximizer, my track still sound really low.

So my question is, what should I do? Should I push all of my tracks up with som db or should I master it in a different way? I have attached a clip from the unmastered track.

Help would be very much appreciated.

Regards,
Peril

View attachment 37415

Mastering is not solely making a track loud. It is improving the sound, applying quality control, corrections, enhancement using the finest quality equipment money can buy. The objectivity and skill of a competent professional has a value. It is up to you whether you want to self finalize or professionally master a track.

Out of interest what is it exactly that makes you think that you can record, mix and master (3 distinct professions) to professional standards at home, bypassing the entire basis of a recording industry for the last 50 years ? 2 months:sigh: give it another 9 years and 10 months and you will know the basics. (if you work hard)

I do not want to appear harsh but it is nonsense, Rome was not built in a day.

SafeandSound Mastering
Cheap mastering

Last edited: