Increasing Loudness in a Mix Before Mastering

ryanmcnally

Hi everyone, I'm still a bit of a novice when it comes to mixing but I've been recently struggling with increasing loudness in my mixes before hitting the mastering stage. My question is two parts so any thoughts or input on either are appreciated.

1) What is the ideal peak/RMS ratio that you strive for in terms of headroom? I've seen anywhere between -3/-12 (peak db/RMS) to -6/-18. Is that the ideal range?

2) Do you have any techniques or suggestions on how to increase RMS without killing headroom? I've been experimenting and it seems I'm only able to do one or other. That is, I can get the right peak levels but my RMS levels are too low. Or I'm able to get RMS in the sweet spot but I'm pushing 0db on the mix bus.

I know each track warrants its own treatment and that there's no "one size fits all" remedy, but I'm curious if there are common techniques or strategies that I could be using to help increase loudness in a mix and still leave enough room when it comes time to mastering.

Thanks.

1) No ideal. I usually peak at -6, but that's just a prefference.

2) Mixing right will give you loudness while at lower volume. That means panning and EQing mostly.

Your peak/rms numbers seem pretty reasonable. I think most mastering engineers would be pretty happy with that. If everything is being mastered digitally, the peak isn't actually very important (provided it's under zero of course...). Just get it to where you want with the headroom and rms levels and you should be fine. I do some basic mastering for different people and if something comes in too hot or too quiet, I just nudge the volume before it hits my mastering chains, no big deal. Unless they're sending me stuff that's extremely loud or way too soft, I can work with a wide peak range.