Improving my ears

scrapheaper

It seems to me that becoming good at mixing and mastering is mostly the process of your ears becoming more sensitive to small changes in sound. When I first opened up an EQ, I couldn't hear any difference to anything but volume.

I'm a bit better now, but I gave up trying to watch a 3 hour mastering class the other day because I couldn't hear the difference between the before and after tracks.

Is there anyway to speed up this process at all? How do the pros get such sensitive ears?

im not that good at catching sounds, but i think theres no way to speed up...for that you need time, time and time...i mean listening to music x 3...its like learning how to drive bicycle...you cant do that in one day...it takes time...like also for learning for exmaple, playing a guitar...maybe im wrong, but thats it how i figure out

Many people swear by the audio course called "Golden Ears." I have it on several CD's, and it is good, but as our friend mentioned above, you still need time to do the drills. It is now available as a software/on-line resource (not free) at trainyourears.com .

GJ

Many people swear by the audio course called "Golden Ears." I have it on several CD's, and it is good, but as our friend mentioned above, you still need time to do the drills. It is now available as a software/on-line resource (not free) at trainyourears.com .

GJ

+1

This is the software in case it helps.

It seems to me that becoming good at mixing and mastering is mostly the process of your ears becoming more sensitive to small changes in sound. When I first opened up an EQ, I couldn't hear any difference to anything but volume.

I'm a bit better now, but I gave up trying to watch a 3 hour mastering class the other day because I couldn't hear the difference between the before and after tracks.

Is there anyway to speed up this process at all? How do the pros get such sensitive ears?