i am an edm musician and dj which version of pro tools do i need ?

ahmed labeeb

For mixing and final editing ?

And what are the differences betwee n

Only pro tool ,le,se,m powered and hd? I am amatuer on music .

You don't need pro tools for mixing and final edit. Save yourself some money, pick up Reaper.

I grew up with 4 track cassette tapes, reel to reel and then later Pro Tools and in my opinion, Pro Tools is NOT the best software for EDM. I don't have experience with Reaper so can't offer an opinion there but either FL studio, Ableton or Logic would be better (the first two I have personal experience with but the latter I've seen mentioned several times by other EDM folk). My personal preference being Ableton for it's warping features. In fact, if you ever want to DJ in future, Ableton also has that ability (although some might prefer Traktor /Serato / CDJ)

Lastly, if you're on a super low budget, maybe check out FL Studio on iPhone.

Good luck!

reaper is a fully featured daw that can compete with fl or logic or ableton at most levels, what it lacks in libraries can be made up with free and paid for plugins

I'd also suggest maybe reason if you are looking to create edm that uses modular synthesis as part of the package, and cubase which is just as capable as any of those mentioned

...For mixing and final editing ?...

His statement leads me to believe he is already using something to write & compose, I think the discussion is really dictated by this. FL Studio and Ableton Live are not geared toward mixing and finalization, great tools none the less. If he's talking creation that's another topic altogether, but it doesn't appear so by his original post.

You're gonna want pro tools 11, no offline bounce in 10. They were late to the party. 11 has some updates that out it above 10 for music production. 64 bit being a big one.