i am an edm musician and dj which version of pro tools do i need ?

^^^ This. A million times, this. Reaper, while being a bit bare bones in the way of native plugins and things of that nature, is every bit as capable as Pro Tools, at like an 8th of the price. Although, there are a few decently priced and quite capable DAWS out there, I can only comment on REAPER, as this is the program I use primarily after graduating from FL studio. REAPER is also VERY easy to use once you get the hang of it.

I looked into reaper years ago during my quest for knowledge on how to mix lol. I stuck with my DAW of choice once I figured out that not only did it perform better than I'd ever expect but because when you buy it you also get a great support team along with it. learning how to make a beat is one thing but try weaving through the technical aspect of getting the DAW to work when you have no idea what this knob does. lololol good times. does reaper have that kind of support system? I want to know so that I can pass it on to the next kid who wants to produce in the future.

Actually I'm right. You could use soup cans to produce if you wanted. I know a young talent who uses an older version of pro tools and he still gets his music published by labels. Its the producer, not the tech.