How Long To Mix A Song/Instrumental

AndreGood

Assuming you mix your own music, How long does it take you to fully mix a song with vocals or just the instrumental itself?

I'm new to mixing myself, but I would say that it takes as long as it needs to. Once you're sure it sounds the way you want it to, you're done. I never keep track of exactly how many hours I've logged working on a particular track, so I couldn't give you an exact number, but on the track I'm currently touching up the mix on (I'm learning a lot as I go along as well) I might have accumulated up to 20 hours on the mix alone.

I've only been mixing for a bit, but I've heard from a lot of people that you shouldn't take a lot of time on mixing. You sorta end up making changes that didn't have to be made in the first place, start second guessing yourself.

I like a good 2-4 hours.

And mix on speakers, not headphones.

An instrumental that's fairly loop based. 1 or 2 hours.
An instrumental that progressive or very complex... depends.
A full length song with vocals. 8 hours. Sometimes more. Occasionally less.

If it's just an instrumental (assuming an urban type genre), maybe an hour and a half to two hours. But this is largely because if it's just an instrumental, the level of detail isn't as high as it would be for a normal record. Instrumentals are mixed because they need to be shopped to artists. Because there's no vocal and because it's not a finished record, there's a lot more leeway in terms of what you do with the mix. If it's an EDM instrumental, or jazz (or just a jazz soloist over an urban bed of music), or rock instrumental, etc., it's going to take longer.