How important is mastering the use of compression in your mixes?

JMolter

I've been producing for about two years now and I can never seem to get the compression right in my mixes. Most of the time when I try compress a track it doesn't sound any different than it did without the compressor on it. Is compression as important as people make it seem to be or is it just a something you need every once in a while in a mix?

There is a lot of controversy about this subject. I personally don't compress unless it's necessary. That would speak for me thinking ppl compress too much or too easily. This is different for master bus compression.
There's some nice youtubes and courses out there about mixing and mastering.

I found these really helpful

Last edited:
I can never seem to get the compression right in my mixes.

This video might help. It explains about setting up the compressor by adjusting the parameters in a fixed order:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qm13HI0z7D0

Most of the time when I try compress a track it doesn't sound any different than it did without the compressor on it.

Congratulations, you found a way to use transparent compression. Do you have more headroom after compression? If yes, you did a good job!

Is compression as important as people make it seem to be or is it just a something you need every once in a while in a mix?

Mmh, difficult to say. Try it for yourself and decide if your music does need compression. It even depends from song to song. Classical music doesn't need any compression. EDM heavily relies on compression in lots of cases.

Just to put things into perspective: compression is most likely the hardest of the basic mixing processes to get to grips with. I can safely say I'm not very good at it myself.