How to get a clearer mix!

RuSty1

I've been learning the basics of making electronic music so I'm just a beginner. I mixed and mastered about 3 songs. I know how to achieve louder mixes but I can't find any info on making a mix clearer. My newest project is here

To me it just doesn't sound clear. The instruments just don't stand out as much. They don't pop. The percussion just isn't punchy.

With this project I've basically have this on the master chain (In Ableton): OTT Multiband compressor (33% dry/wet) -> EQ 8 -> Mix Gel Compressor -> Limiter(Not very hard at all)

Any tips on creating a better clearer mix would be appreciated!

Last edited:
I've been learning the basics of making electronic music so I'm just a beginner. I mixed and mastered about 3 songs. I know how to achieve louder mixes but I can't find any info on making a mix clearer. My newest project is here

To me it just doesn't sound clear. The instruments just don't stand out as much. They don't pop. The percussion just isn't punchy.

With this project I've basically have this on the master chain (In Ableton): OTT Multiband compressor (33% dry/wet) -> EQ 8 -> Mix Gel Compressor -> Limiter(Not very hard at all)

Any tips on creating a better clearer mix would be appreciated!

Clearity is a lot about defining what sound sources need to cut through and by how much. When you evaluate a mix and the evaluation shows that the elements that are expected to cut through the mix by the degree you are expecting don't do so, then many times you might understand the mix to lack clearity. Furthermore, an rms dense mix - one that has a lot of sound sources with low peak to rms ratios sitting on top of each other - add to the issue. Beyond this you can on top of this have a number of wrong balances in regards to depth, width, height, warmth. It all sums up to an unclear sounding mix.