How can i make my drums knock harder?!!! Similar to cardiak's and tha bizness's drums

GerardWilliams

Hey guys I'm an aspiring producer from Jersey and I been making beats for about 3 years now and I've come to relize i've never been satisfied with the sound of my drums. I want my drums to knock harder and have an impact similar to Cardiak (Producer: Start It Up) and Tha Bizness (Production Duo: Every Girl). Any and all feedback would be appreciated. Also if anyone has any tips on creating drum sounds from scratch or good ways to make your own drum sounds that would help too. Along with making my drums knock harder I'm trying to get better drum sounds because these kits aren't doing it for me. Thanks guys!!!! Help me out!!!

What do you use for gear? I make all my drums in my MPC. I usually layer anywhere from 4 to 8 drum sounds on top of eachother (like four snare sounds on one pad and 4 kick sounds on a different pad, etc). After I get close to getting the sounds I want, I bring a loop I create into it into Logic or Pro Tools. When doing this I have the snare on one track, the kick on another track and the hi hat on another track...that way you can mix each sound individually. After that I sum all the drum sounds through a bus and add some compression or limiting with a touch of corrective EQ. Thats one way to get them bangin!

i have fl studio 8 and i also have pro tools m powered 8....and i've always heard layering was a good technique but i was skeptical about it....do you know any good places for drum samples off hand?