Few basic mixing questions

Coleman1

Coleman1
So I'm into my first ever mix after making several instrumentals, and finally getting monitors to mix with. And I just gotta ask some things.
1. How do you work in your automation clips if some of them you put as volume?
2. (Most important) do you do the mixing right from the start? Like, you mix everything from the start to finish of the track, or do you bring every element into one space where they can all be played at once?
3. Is it okay that I'm constantly checking on my headphones whilst doing it on monitors, or should I do it all on monitors then start tweaking? I just feel like headphones gives me an amazing sense of subtle sounds/reverb/delay and especially just overall balance in volume. I'm New to it all, so even just letting me know how your mixing process works would help me out. Thanks :)

1. If I'm automating volume, I create automation for a plugin that has its own volume control as opposed to automating a fader on a mixer channel.

2. I listen to an entire track first. While listening I take notes (or mental notes) on things that I feel need to be fixed. From there I listen a few more times and start working on specific sounds or instruments (I tend to do some of the basic work on vocals and drums first and move on to the less dominant pieces of a mix). Before processing anything, I set levels and pan things. For processing, I general apply EQ and compression if needed first. I save other effects, like reverb, delay, and stereo processing for last. After I'm done processing, I take a few more listens to the track and make final adjustments to refine the sound that I'm going for.