Drum Miking Techniques

TM Productionz

Hey I was just wondering about something.

I just got my first set of drums last year and I'm learning how to drum and I've been making beats for almost 12 years now so I wanna record my own drum samples.

What are some good drum miking techniques as far as getting that "BOOM BAP" "J dilla" style sound?

I'm also gonna invest in some drum mics does anyone have any suggestions?

I want my kicks to sound deep and punchy and thuddy but I don't want them to sound like they sound when I play them, (Regular) they sound too rock and roll I want that boom bap sound with the kicks and the snare (Especially the snare) that sound in the snare that doesn't have so much decay in it like a rock snare or band snare.

I also wanna just learn about drum miking in general can someone help me? Pardon me if there's a thousand threads on this im just too lazy to search lol

Not too many here, TM. There are some good resources all over the Web and on YouTube, but you'll want to look at not only miking, but also tuning.

A simple way to start would be with three mikes. Do you have a mixer or interface with that many inputs? You may want to start with dynamic microphones, so you don't also have to worry about phantom power (condensers need power, dynamics don't). Probably the least expensive, workhorse pro level mike you can get would be a Shure SM57. Two of these could be your stereo overheads. Then you need a bass drum mike; something a little bigger designed to pick-up the lower frequencies better. There are a bunch of choices, but you might want to start with Shure or Audix.