Dilemma: Kick sounds clip at low volume

YYZ

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the whole mixing and mastering process. Lately my kicks have been giving me a lot of trouble! Every time I try to master the kicks, they sound like they are clipping and distorting really badly. This is what I've tried thus far:

1) I side-chained kicks to all the sounds within similar frequencies
2) I EQ'd the sounds to make room for drums
3) I compressed the kicks using the "drums" setting on FL compressor
4) Kicks are sitting at an average of -15 dB in the mix.
5) All kicks are routed to one mixer bus for total control

Seeing as the kick drums are at a low volume & seem to have their own space in the mix, I'm stumped.

Does anyone have any ideas for what I could be doing wrong? All perspectives are appreciated.

Last edited:
Try a mix without compressing kicks. If it's better, try adjusting the settings (attack/release) and compression ratio (don't hit them as hard)...

GJ

PS-- Also make sure that you check the "make-up gain" (output volume) in case you're over-driving at that point.

Last edited:
Thanks for the advice but already tried mastering without compression on the kicks. After binging on youtube vids, I used them as a last resort but no luck

Last edited:
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the whole mixing and mastering process. Lately my kicks have been giving me a lot of trouble! Every time I try to master the kicks, they sound like they are clipping and distorting really badly. This is what I've tried thus far:

Seeing as the kick drums are at a low volume & seem to have their own space in the mix, I'm stumped.

Does anyone have any ideas for what I could be doing wrong? All perspectives are appreciated.

Kicks as in a top kick and a body or just loads of kicks put together. iIf it's the last one that's your problem also try turning up the treshold on the compressor (to soften the compession) and turn of auto makup (If that's even a thing)