Compressor / Compression "Sweeping" Technique Question

Gaffler

Apologies ahead of time, I am pretty new with this sound production stuff bear with me.
This seems to be a more straight forward approach to compression than what I have been hearing for a long time online.

set your compression ratio to max
attack to the fastest setting
release to its highest setting (longest)
Threshold set where the entire sound sets off the meter

So basically compress the shit out of it.

Then slowly let off of the attack and release respectively
The first frequencies that you hear fading in, will be the sounds most effected in the sound
then let off the ratio + threshold in order to more easily set the compressor as precise as you want it.
This will help you identify the specific frequency in the sound that will be most effected by the compressor when set with a very subtle affect.

I hope this makes sense, I just rewrote this like 3 times...

This seems to make tuning a compressor more straightforward.

I have never heard it explained this way (Not to say it hasn't been explained this way)
I wanted to get some input from people who know more than me.
Is my approach flawed? It seems like a way to "sweep" a compressor similar to sweeping an eq.

Any feedback is welcome. Let me know if this is a good approach, if not please explain why.

Thank you.

Last edited:
Apologies ahead of time, I am pretty new with this sound production stuff bear with me.
This seems to be a more straight forward approach to compression than what I have been hearing for a long time online.

set your compression ratio to max
attack to the fastest setting
release to its highest setting (longest)
Threshold set where the entire sound sets off the meter

So basically compress the shit out of it.

Then slowly let off of the attack and release respectively
The first frequencies that you hear fading in, will be the sounds most effected in the sound