Can't get my mixes straight.

kraften

Hi everyone!

I've been producing music in Logic Pro 9 for about 4 months now, mainly progressive house. I have about 4 songs that I'm really pleased with, but I can't get them mixed properly for the mastering stage. I have read and watched several tutorials about Mixing and Mastering but whenever I try myself, the result doesn't end up half the quality of todays "pro" tracks although I follow the instructions quite studiously.

Therefore, I would like to know your secret tips and tricks how to end up with the best possible mix including enhancing, volume levels, EQ and what not so that you prepare your track for the mastering stage in the best way.

Thanks in advance!

No one is going to give you their secret tips and tricks.... that'd be like walking into a 5 star restaurant and demanding the chef gives you the recipe to his world famous pasta..... it's just not gonna happen.

Just use Google and research all the tools of the trade... once you know what your tool does, why it does it, and how it does it then you'll start seeing results.

Because commercial tracks are mastered (also level pushed), and your mix isn't, you should turn down the reference tracks by 5 to 6 dB for any relevant comparison.

Last edited:
Hi everyone!

I've been producing music in Logic Pro 9 for about 4 months now, mainly progressive house. I have about 4 songs that I'm really pleased with, but I can't get them mixed properly for the mastering stage. I have read and watched several tutorials about Mixing and Mastering but whenever I try myself, the result doesn't end up half the quality of todays "pro" tracks although I follow the instructions quite studiously.

Therefore, I would like to know your secret tips and tricks how to end up with the best possible mix including enhancing, volume levels, EQ and what not so that you prepare your track for the mastering stage in the best way.

Thanks in advance!