Can you produce a song without using any Compression (especially in electronic music)

I am a beginner producer, and I make 'Chill-Out' music.

It seems in most electronic music, there has been a new trend known as the 'Loudness Wars', where producers limit and compress their productions so that the music is louder than before, but the Dynamic Range is ruined.

In ambient and other less popular genres, the technique is not used as much.

My question is, during mixing, if the song is correctly EQed, and I use Limiters to make sure the volume never goes above 0.0dB, could I avoid using Dynamic Range Compression entirely?

I'm sure it would be necessary to use Compression in the mastering stage so that it can transition down to MP3, but during the Mixing phase can I use no or minimal compression?

I was listening to my song so far, and at once I thought something sounded 'weird' or 'wrong' with the sound.

Its turns out I am use to listening to songs with no dynamic range, and after that I realized how much better I think it sounds with a big dynamic range.

Anyway, what do you all think?

There's a difference between compressing a single track or instrument and the master bus compression.
I try to avoid single track or instrument compression. Correct choice of level, eq, automation and effects have my priority. If I still think the sound is too low or high on volume at times, I put the compressor on.
When it comes down to master bus compressing, I always use it. When I've got a few instruments laid down in some bars, I tune the master bus compressor so that the meter doesn't exceed 4db. When adding new instruments I may or may not look at it and adjust it further. It almost always makes the song sound better/coherent.
In edm, compression is also used as an effect, through sidechaining. You then get that pumping effect that in a lot of other genres is considered irritating.