Any Nine Inch Nails fans here? I got a hold of unmixed "Only" session...

P

phatastic

So I'm a student at UT, and for a project I'm getting to mix the raw recording of "Only" off of "With Teeth." Turns out the recording professor here worked with Trent Reznor in the past. Needless to say it's been a badass project, it's actually the first I've ever gotten to work on (other than my own at home) so I was a little surprised I'm getting to work on it.

HAHA they did the original session on an MBOX. You would think they could afford something better...

Anyway, I was wondering what you guys would do with the mix in your hands. For the record, I'm not asking you to do the assignment for me, in fact I'm almost done already. I just wanted to add some touch ups, maybe some tricks I hadn't thought of. I'm not very knowlegable in the ways of rock music, so I treated the track like I would any other project- lots of panning, especially with the synths, automation, I used an amp plug in on the bass guitar. It's a pretty good mix as is in my opinion, although maybe a little boring.

Comments? Questions? I can tell you what I've done with it so far.

I'm not familiar with the song but if it's boring it's probably because there's a lack of dynamics.

I don't mean the aggresive use of a compressor (though it could be that too). You have to listen to the song. Listen to the emotion that it is trying to convey.

If it's more of a ballad type of song, the amp plugin on the bass might not be necessary. DI bass might sound the best and a smooth and low bass, yet not boomy bass would likely work pretty well. The bass really sets that groove and would need to jell with the kick pretty well. Bussing both of these to the same track might help along with editing them to hit right at the same time.