Accidentally recorded entire track in auto tune over wrong key, what next?

LeviiWhite

Hey guys, longtime member and lurker but today I ran into a pretty big problem and I don't really know where else to look for some help. I had some people come down from L.A. - about 4 hours away from my home to record a track over a YouTube beat they had found and the artists are huge fans for auto tune, this would be my first time ever recording with auto tune over a track, the issue is that the entire recording is embedded with this auto tune that is the wrong tonic key. What are my options as to making the track sound better overall and possibly removing the auto tune, I don't imagine I have many options but anything will help, as I am pretty new to recording. Thank you for any tips and your time, much love, Levi.

There is some info missing for us to help you.

Normally, autotune is used as an effect over the original. You can in the end bounce the final track, but you usually keep the original. That way, you can edit the effect/autotune afterwards. What software did you use? Which autotune, which DAW or recording software?
You mix up past and presence tense in your sentence "this would be my first recording". Judging by your question, the artists already came to you to record and did their recording with you and that recording is recorded with autotune in the wrong key. Is that right?
If you mean the youtube beat is autotuned in the wrong key, I'd seriously recommend to rethink some strategies. Autotuning the beat in the key that is sung would also be an option :D

Last edited:
Hey man, my apologies for being unclear, let me reiterate!