Your songwriting process

TuneOrg

Hey,
I'm a production newb with around 1-2 years of messing around with FL Studio under my belt.
I've been playing music for over a decade as a punk rocker and I've just been sick and tired of dealing with band egos and trying to find bandmates who aren't flakes... so I decided to focus entirely on making music off my computer.
Anyway, I'm used to writing songs by busting out my acoustic guitar, jamming on some riffs and chords until something fits, and then singing a basic vocal melody over it. But I feel a little lost getting started on writing tracks off FL Studio.

What are your guys' favorite songwriting rituals to get your ideas flowing and putting a basic song idea down? Do you start with a bassline, jam on some piano chords, or lay down a beat? Ever write anything good with FL's randomizer/riff machine tools? I'd be really interested in hearing ideas on how you guys get started.

I just read an article about a famous producer who said he find a single sound he likes and goes from there. I have had more inspiration by getting a bass line or groove down, maybe a good sequence that I get that "feeling" from. I then have been adding different drum kits and rhythm's until that feels right. I am at this point on a track right now. I have a feel for the song type so have been listening to other similar songs in the genre to see what sounds good for ideas.

I don't know what genre or style you're into, but I'll just give you my process anyway.
Hopefully you'll find it helpful.

I either come up with an idea, or just fool around until I get an idea.
The idea is mostly a basic loop with the most important elements (mostly focusing on the melodies and not on the sounds themselves that much, no more than a vague idea of what kind of sounds I want). The loop is at the height of the song.