Working on songs and then not releasing them

RuSty1

Recently I've been working really hard on improving the quality of my music. I really want the next song I release to be a huge step closer to better quality electronic music.

I've run into this problem where I start a song with a basic idea that I love. It could be a whole drop or just a single element of a track. I then build off this and branch out until I've got a full song. My problem is by the end of the process I've worked on this track really hard and now I dont think it's very good. I don't have that initial excitement to release this track.

I'm very new to making art and I'm guessing this is probably pretty common. I listen to sections of my track over and over and sometimes I listen to it when I'm not even going to work on it. I just want to make sure that the idea is still good so I know its worth working on. Sometimes I listen to the idea and I don't like it and then sometimes I do. Its getting very confusing and throwing me off.

Currently I'm sitting on 3 finished tracks I initially thought where very good and were my best work yet.

How do I fix this problem? Should I stop listening to my tracks so much? Or are my expectations just too high?

I used to have this same problem. My advice would be to not to rush pushing your music out there if you personally aren't satisfied with it yet. Practice everyday until your songs dont make you cringe, then put out material.

In general it is always better to only promote something that you really believe in. That being said you'd do good to release something and see how many people you can reach. You'll see that it is not so easy in the beginning to get exposure. Promoting your tracks and getting listeners is something you have to work on too and it is better to learn that skill sooner than later.