Why am i off beat when recording with a midi keyboard?

BeatsByD

Mostly i am click the notes in a piano roll with a mouse kinda guy but sometimes that gets boring and i try to make some music with my keyboard even though im not good at playing it at all.

I use FL Studio and i tried this with Reason too before.

Even though im pretty sure i press the notes on the keyboard on time, it records off beat. Why is that, do i just need more practice ?

Probably it's because of the latency. You should try image line's forums and help section on how to tweak the preferences to optimize FL for you to record.

Probably it's because of the latency. You should try image line's forums and help section on how to tweak the preferences to optimize FL for you to record.

I forgot to mention that i know about it can be a latency problem but even after i fixed that it seems like i am offbeat all the time.

When you see videos of people making beats it sounds like they are perfectly on beat, but when i do it i am either too quick or too slow.

I guess i just need to practice more

I forgot to mention that i know about it can be a latency problem but even after i fixed that it seems like i am offbeat all the time.

When you see videos of people making beats it sounds like they are perfectly on beat, but when i do it i am either too quick or too slow.
I guess i just need to practice more

Nah, you need to download asio4all (its free) instead of using your primary sound driver, because its your latency that ****ing you up i had the same problem b4 and also if your gonna be using midi keyboards and shit you should hook yourself up with an external sound card . .. . you probably already know that or either you need to get familiar with music theory and how to count beats using the right tempo (which is really simple and can be done)

Last edited: