What's your status?

jenethith

Hey guys i'm new to the forum and I wanted to know some people's stories. My question is, what's your status right now with being a producer? Are you where you want to be? Are you a full-time producer? Is it a hobby? I'm curious!

My status? I'm a noob. But not so noob. Okay, still noob. Been producing for 1 year now. Too much to learn, so your second question is answered: No, I still have a long road ahead of me. And this road is longer, because I only have a couple of hours to practice during the week, and some couple more to practice during the weekends. Producing started as a hobby, but I plan on getting more serious soon.

Right now just learning the ropes and considering going to school for audio engineering after my business degree. Right now producing is a hobby, but I definitely have plans to start taking it seriously. Still learning the technical ropes too; music theory, plugins, mastering, etc. Definitely not where I want to be, and I would say the time I spend producing is 2-3 hours every 2 days, usually at night when I have time for myself. In betwwen that I'm usually watching Youtube vids.

What about your status OP?

Last edited:
I've been producing around 8 months.
I just got my first exclusive release on a music blog/label today.
I do music just for a hobby while in college, maybe I'll turn it into a career if I feel I can make it and enjoy it still.

Last edited:
DDream good to hear man, hey just commit to this. If you want it bad, you'll get it.