What is one paid VST that you would recommend to a beginner?

RichieC

Hey all,

I run FL Studio and I'm trying to learn all the ins and outs of it.

However, with these free VSTs, I feel like I'm not getting the quality that would help me learn. Also, using free VSTs makes me not want to practice FL Studio just because I've heard the quality from paid VSTs that make free VSTs sound cheap.

I'd rather pay for a VST that will motivate me want to produce more.

I want to lean towards a hip hop style, or artist styles such as kendrick lamar, j cole, kanye west, and drake.

I've heard of omnisphere, kontakt, east west, sylenth1. But what would you recommend given that I am a beginner looking to learn all the ins and outs of producing, and leaning towards a hip hop style?

Thanks in advance.

Spontaneously I'd say you should explore what you have in FL already, It has really nice instruments. So nice in fact that I even bought one of them (Harmor) for use in my daw of choice.

You downloaded the wrong free VSTs. Download the free Kontakt Player and the free Kontakt Factory Selection from Native Instruments. That is enough to get you started to make some good music. Upgrade once you get comfortable with that.

I'd recommend a paid vst like zebra and kontakt. Omnisphere has good sounds for movie stuff though. Not fond of the way it handles synthesis, but it's basically nexus3000.
In my opinion, get a vst that has natural sounds and one that let's you make unnatural [synthesis] sounds to cover as much ground as possible.
Uvi too.

I would say go with Kontakt and some good libraries. Quality sounds and lots of room to expand.

I'd recommend a paid vst like zebra and kontakt. Omnisphere has good sounds for movie stuff though. Not fond of the way it handles synthesis, but it's basically nexus3000.
In my opinion, get a vst that has natural sounds and one that let's you make unnatural [synthesis] sounds to cover as much ground as possible.
Uvi too.