What does 'leasing' beats mean?

DJ Synner

HiBeats Music
I'm new to the beat selling industry and I've seen a lot of other producers offer their beats for both 'exclusive' rights and also give an option to 'lease' a beat.

I know what exclusive rights mean, but I'm not sure about leasing beats. Does it mean they can use it for a certain amount of time or something like that?

Please fill me in.

Leasing is somewhat misleading. Non-exclusive or Licensing is the proper term. Leasing is the same as when you get an Apt. or car. The person who sold it cant come into your apt or drive your car whenever. It is your property until your contract agreement is up. When you license a beat you give this person permission to make a recording with the beat but you obtain all rights still to th beat and can do as you please with it

leasing is really the common term, but we all should say licensing instead. leasing/licensing basically means you are allowing someone use the beat with limited rights but you still have full rights to the beat and may license it out to other artists

Ok cool. So that means that they could like use it on a mixtape or something but not release an actual song without your permission?

It's the use of a term that is nonexistent in the world of intellectual property licensing to mean something the opposite of what the word means when it's used elsewhere to create a situation that is filled with legal pitfalls if the user ever ends up in court.

Ok cool. So that means that they could like use it on a mixtape or something but not release an actual song without your permission?

Nah as i understand it, it means they can release a song but so can others.

As gballin sed "non-exclusive" is a better word for it

:)