Understanding Rotary Mixers vs Faders (Pros and Cons)?

massivewolf

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to making beats and have been thinking about getting a 5-channel mixer for more thorough EQing. However, the ones in my price range ($300-$400) have been all knobs - what are the benefits to having one with faders?

a fader is a much better visual indicator of the level that a channel is set to than a rotary knob

Thanks for the quick responses guys. Why are there threads floating around the internet saying that rotarys are superior?

And Carnage- no I'm talking about making beats in Ableton either from scratch or sampling records, then using outboard gear for eqing (ie. mixer).

EDIT: Also sorry if this was posted in the wrong forum. New user here.

Last edited:
a rotary knob is superior for dealing eq (you pretty much get where the 0 point is and turning one way or the other either boosts or cut on fixed freq eq) and input gain trim and aux/fx sends and on panning (same idea as eq excpt you know where center, left and right are)

final channel level is better seen from a slider rather than a rotary pot butb both will do the same thing

as for threads around the Internet - remember the internet is worse than old wild west: full of liars and braggarts and con-men as well as a few straight shooters; learning to distinguish them takes time

+1 to linear faders if you are just starting out. It has been the standard for a long time. However, rotary pots work fine, and you can learn to mix on either. Until the late 60's/early 70's, all of the big studios had rotary pot mixers, and I learned to mix working in radio (where a lot of the boards still have rotary knobs). So don't sweat it if you can't afford an SSL (lol).

GJ