Tr-808....vs.....tr-909....???

Chew_Bear

I need a somewhat detailed and easy to grasp explanation between the sound of these 2 drum machines.

When I say sound...I mean in regards to 'character', 'style', 'body/warmth' and pretty much anything that can help me to distinguish between the 2.

As I am a newbie. Seems like all drums sound the 'SAME' to me and I can not differentiate if its a 808, 909 or whatever.

But...It seems like these 2 drum machines are the most popular and I would like to know how they are different so I can start buying some sample packs and VST's.

Thanks.

It's difficult to describe in words - best explanation I've heard was from a guy on gearslutz who said "the 808 sounds like weed and the 909 sounds like meth" :) Generally, the 808 is considered to be warm, 909 harsher and more electro. To tell them apart, you need to spend some time practicing critical listening. Here's a link to the 606, 707, 808, and 909 playing the same beat, just listen critically until you can comfortably tell which is which. Another good exercise would be to listen to the sound examples on Goldbaby's site, particularly the SuperAnalog 808 and 909. His sample kits are very good, and reasonably priced. As far as what's better, well, that's up to you.