Time we should spend producing.

Timeless Flows

Greetings,friends. I have been producing since a few months now and i was wondering how much time does a producer have to spend in order to develop and make better music. I have set myself the goal of spending 3 hours five days a weak on producing and learning techniques,since i have a lot other stuff going on(studying and going to school,taking piano lessons,taking english lessons,social life and so on) . So i was wondering if those 15 hours of producing weekly are enough ? How much time do you guys spend producing?

This will be different for everyone as we all learn at different speeds, all you can do is spend as much time as you can :) you can only get better. A friend of mine took around 6 years to get up to professional sound whereas another only 3 years, both with fulltime jobs though.
Good luck :D

Depends how good you want to get. Some people say 10,000 hours for a top level athlete or world-class concert musician: but I don't think that this applies to producing as once you reach a certain level of production it becomes much more about the musicianship

I haven't been counting exactly, but I think it took me 1000-1500 hours to reach grade 8 standard on the piano, so at 15 hours a week that would be 2 years, assuming you are making progress at the same rate.

You'll see some progress pretty quick, I saw a TED talk implying you can learn the rudiments of any skill in 20 hours.

You learn by being repetitive, so don't focus on the how long, just focus on the journey and the end goal. I'm sure that you think about producing day in/out, and I'm also sure that you work on your music daily, so just keep it it. The key is to not quit.